New curriculum guidance for trainers and trainees, Bristol School of Anaesthesia:

Full details on RCOA webpages through this link:

RCoA Curriculum change form for the LLP

Please see link for users of the Lifelong Learning Platform who wish to request a change of assigned curriculum.

If you are moving from a 2010 curriculum to a 2021 curriculum, you will need to have approval from any one of the following: Head of School, Training Programme Director, Regional Adviser or Deputy Regional Adviser. The RCoA may ask you to provide evidence of this approval (an email confirmation from one of the above).

Curriculum change form

Transitioning to the New curriculum:

Evidence on LLP 2010 curriculum:

When trainees transition to the 2021 LLP curriculum they should be encouraged to save all existing CUT forms as pdfs and any WBAs as pdfs if they may be applicable to next stage of training. Examples may include:

  • WBAs done during CF year which may be applicable to capabilities in Stage 2 training on 2021 curriculum
  • Neuro, cardiac etc done in ST3 which will be transferred to Stage 2 on 2021 LLP
  • Some capabilities done in ST5 which may be applicable to the Stage 3 syllabus.


Generate a ‘transition ESSR’ at the point of moving to the new curriculum – to cover the full range of dates from the start of the particular equivalent stage of training they are in e.g. if transitioning at end ST4, incorporate dates from beginning of ST3 onwards so that all evidence, including specialist modules done in ST3 (but applicable to Stage2) are drawn in – we think this will allow all CUTs , WBAs  and personal activities from the old curriculum within that time frame to then be visible through this ESSR on their new curriculum LLP going forward.


2021 Curriculum implementation

The 2021 CCT Anaesthetics Curriculum has been approved by the GMC for implementation on 4 August 2021. The College would like to transfer the majority of trainees from the 2010 Curriculum to the 2021 Curriculum at this time to allow them to enjoy the benefits the new curriculum provides, but also recognises the need to allow flexibility for schools of anaesthesia to transition trainees in a way that supports and manages the delivery of programmes locally. The following implementation plan is proposed:

  • the 2010 curriculum will remain in use until 31 January 2024
  • all August 2021 new CT1 Anaesthesia or ACCS (Anaesthesia) trainees commence on the new Anaesthetics (or ACCS) 2021 curriculum
  • CT1 Anaesthesia or ACCS (Anaesthesia) trainees who commenced in February 2021 are transferred to the new Anaesthetics (or ACCS) 2021 curriculum in either August 2021 or February 2022
  • CT2 trainees or ACCS (Anaesthesia) CT3 trainees who expect to have completed 18 months anaesthesia by August 2021 and intend to apply for ST3 Anaesthesia starting in February 2022 should complete competences for core level training on the 2010 curriculum to allow application for ST3
  • CT2 to ST5 trainees are transferred to the new curriculum in either August 2021 or February 2022, however;
  • any trainee who is expected to achieve their CCT by 31 January 2024 may remain on the 2010 curriculum. This should be discussed with the local Training Programme Director. Those who anticipate a CCT date beyond this date, for any reason, should transition to the new Anaesthetics 2021 curriculum at the earliest opportunity


Stage 1 top up (between Current core training and start new Stage 2 training in ST4 year)

  • Applicable for:

    • CT3 year

    • C/F post CT2 or ACCS who need Stage 1 top up before applying for an ST4 post in Aug 23

    • Possibly some intermediate trainees who will not achieve their ILTC (end ST4) by the Feb 24 e.g. maternity leave / LTFT


Full RCOA guidance for the experience and evidence required for the transition year between core level training on the 2010 Anaesthetics Curriculum and Stage 2 training on the 2021 Anaesthetics Curriculum:

CT3 equivalent training guidance


Stage 2 top up training (between current intermediate training and start Stage 3 training in ST6 year)

  • This is applicable for all trainees starting ST5 in August 2021, and other intermediate trainees completing their intermediate level training certificate (end ST4) on old curriculum.
  • It is the bridge between intermediate training and Stage 2 training in the new curriculum (which covers ST4 AND ST5)
  • The Stage 2 top up tab can be found under Intermediate on the old curriculum LLP
  • ST5 trainees should target their training in ST5 to cover this top up; however, under current school rotations some capabilities may need to be delayed until ST6 and likewise a trainee may achieve some Stage 3 capabilities within their ST5 year.
  • In essence, at the moment, the aim is for Stage 2 (with EQ2a or EQ2b sign off – see below) and Stage 3 completed by CCT with some variation in the order in which things are done


There will be a section on the LLP where evidence for the stage 2 ‘top up’ year can be linked. This will then populate the certificate to sign off stage 2 equivalence (EQ2).

EQ2 may be done on the 2010 curriculum LLp (EQ2a) or the 2021 curriculum LLp (EQ2b).

Use EQ2a on 2010 LLP if Stage 2 top up year contains all the training required for the top up including ICM: options A and B on the Guidance for Transition from 2010 to 2021 Anaesthetics Curriculum. Anaesthetists in training in this group will end up with an Intermediate Level Training Certificate plus an EQ2a.

Use EQ2b on the 2021 LLp if stage 2 top up has to be combined with stage 3 due to the previously planned programme: options B and C on the Guidance for Transition from 2010 to 2021 Anaesthetics Curriculum. This may apply to ST5s who need more flexibility in their training programmes because of ICM or other units of training.


Full RCOA webpage guidance setting out the experience and evidence required for the transition year between intermediate level training on the 2010 Anaesthetics Curriculum and Stage 3 training on the 2021 Anaesthetics Curriculum – through this link:

ST5 equivalent training guidance


ASSESSMENT in the NEW curriculum:

Assessment guidance for the new curriculum.